MiddleMe

Working in Shanghai made me realised language is a huge barrier when it comes to communication especially between two countries that doesn’t speak the same native language. Not that I don’t speak Chinese or English, the matter of fact, both languages are my native tongue. From young, my school emphasizes on bilingual teachings. However, I have seen so much great talents missing out on opportunities or promotion because of language being their biggest obstacle. And it’s truly frustrating to know that someone who is absolutely the right fit for the role, armed with rich experience and right knowledge yet missed out because he or she is unable to communicate due to language barrier.

It is the same in the blogosphere. While the main language widely used here is English, there are followers of mine who writes in French, Spanish, Malay, Italian and Hindu. This limit their scope of audience and…

View original post 462 more words

